Post Office Working Hours

Working hours of Post Offices in India are different for different regions. This is because Post Offices offer different services to its customers, so they have different opening and closing time. Most of the post offices work from Monday to Saturday except for holidays. This answers all the post-office-related queries and it’s working. 


Timings of Indian Post Offices

In India, the postal department has 16 postal circles. The timing of post offices in these circles cannot be generalized. 

Official timings of the opening of the Office is 8 a.m to 4 p.m. Its timing depends on the customer’s transactions and the place where the post office is located. Different services in post offices have different opening and closing times.  

Example – Savings Bank and Savings Certificate service opening time is 9 am to 2 pm. The same post offices will have a different time for Booking a registered letter or Parcel from 9 am to 6 pm.  

Post Offices Working Days and Operation Time. 

In India, the working days of post office are Monday to Saturday Except for holidays. 

Post offices are classified into the following categories :

  • G.P.O General Post Office
  • H.P.O Head Post Office
  • M.D.G Mukhya Dak Ghar
  • R.M.S Railway Mail Service (Mail Offices)

Cities post offices have working hours between 10 am to 6 pm or 9:30 am to 5:30 pm

Rural Post offices have working hours between 10 am to 2 pm. 

These timings vary on the arrival time of the mails. Some post offices work 24*7 in India. Some R.M.S Centres work at night also depending on the goods trains timing in that region. These offices may work even on Sundays. 

Indian Post Office Timings and Points to Remember

  • They have a fixed working and lunchtime that may vary depending on the place it is situated at. 
  • Post Offices are closed on Sunday, but some RMS, GPO may be open depending on the Circle.
  • Post offices remain open on Saturdays except if it’s not a holiday. 
  • Some Post offices may not have a full day on Saturday and work till 12 pm, 2 pm, 4 pm, or 6 pm. 
  • The normal working hours of the post office are from 8 am to 4 pm. 
  • Post offices are open even on the 4th Saturday. 

Leave a Reply